Bogorodsky park

A park connecting the city with its history

11. Streetscapes

Concepts

2019

A joint project with Strelets&Park

This central park project forms part of a large strategy for the development of public spaces, forest and park areas, a city bike network, embankments and the historical district of Noginsk.

Noginsk is a city outside Moscow which has great tourism potential. The initial work on the territory centred around developing a new image for the city: not just through the design of the central park, but also the creation of a network of associations through branding. The first link in this chain was the pre-revolutionary Bogorodsk, which became Noginsk in 1930. An industrial city of the 19th century, formed around textile enterprises, Bogorodsk became a byword for Art Nouveau architecture and was nicknamed «Vienna near Moscow».

Aside from the central park, other green areas of the city consist in two estates - Morozovskaya and Volkhonka, both of which boast an extensive arboretum. Connected by a single route, these territories, with their tourist saturation and recreational functions, contribute greatly to the city’s concept as «the capital of the weekend».

The Central park is comparable in size to the historical center. These two sites are connected by a promenade which serves as the main axis of the park, along which various vantage points and functional areas are strung with varying degrees of aesthetic intervention. Bogorodskiye Gardens is a territory of regular planning situated at the park’s entrance. The rest of the zones are designed on the premise of English gardens - a serene landscape for quiet walks. Noginsk industry and urban communities find representation through the Industrial Forest: an exhibition area of open spaces and pavilions. The children's zone consists of the playground and Children's Art Palace, while the sports area is located on an area with difficult terrain, suiting the purposes of a skatepark. Most of the park, however, is a natural forest, untouched bar only a couple of cycle routes, and conducive to meditative walks.

The forms, colors and materials of the park’s buildings and landscaping elements are reminiscent of Bogorodsk’s Art Nouveau heritage and the architecture of historical parks. They all follow a single design code, which is resplendently diverse, and does not seek to unify solutions, but provide space for experiment.

The prevalent materials of Bogorodsk’s historical buildings are wood and brick, and it was with these mediums that most of the elements of the park’s renovation were finished. Diagonal masonry was adopted for the paving: a choice inspired by the architecture of the New Weaving Factory. Meanwhile, the shape of the wooden buildings refers to 19th century park pavilions.

The park’s sights are distributed throughout the entire territory: the main promenade boasts a bowl fountain and an observation tower, while crescent-shaped pavilions occupy the Industrial Forest (multifunctional exhibition space) and sports areas, gently hugging their surroundings to create the semblance of a square.

All buildings situated in the forest zone have a circular shape. The ice cream parlor has a rounded star-shaped layout where «rays» form private terraces. Children’s playground is enclosed by a wooden ring, metaphorically adorned by the forest. This latter solution allowed for the trees’ preservation and added additional levels for walking, babysitting or relaxing in the shade.

Богородские сады

Парк, соединяющий город с его историей

11. Благоустройство

Концепция

2019

Проект Центрального парка — часть большой стратегии развития общественных пространств, лесных и парковых территорий, городской велосети, набережных и исторической части Ногинска.

Ногинск — подмосковный город, обладающий большим туристическим потенциалом. Первой частью работы с территорией стала разработка нового образа города: не просто дизайн центрального парка, а брендинг места, создание цепочки ассоциаций. Начальное звено этой цепочки —дореволюционный Богородск, который в 1930 году стал Ногинском. Промышленный город XIX века, образованный вокруг текстильных предприятий, за выдающуюся архитектуру модерна прозванный «подмосковной Веной».

В число зеленых территорий города, помимо центрального парка, входят две усадьбы — Морозовская и Волхонка с обширным дендрарием. Связь этих территорий единым маршрутом, насыщение их туристическими и рекреационными функциями — важная часть концепции «Богородск —столица выходных».

Центральный парк практически равен историческому центру по площади и соединен с ним променадом. Этот променад служит главной осью парка, на которую нанизаны различные видовые точки и функциональные зоны, спроектированные с разной степенью вмешательства. Богородские сады —открывающая парк территория регулярной планировки. Остальные зоны спроектированы по принципу английских садов — ландшафтный парк для спокойных прогулок. Ногинская промышленность и городские сообщества представлены в «Индустриальном лесу» — выставочной площадке с площадью и павильонами. Детская зона объединяет детскую площадку с Дворцом детского творчества. Спортивная зона находится на участке со сложным рельефом, подходящим для устройства скейтпарка. Большая часть территории парка это природный лес, подходящий для медитативных прогулок. Ее оставили нетронутой, проложив лишь пару велосипедных маршрутов.

Пластика, палитра и материалы элементов благоустройства и парковых построек наследуют богородскому модерну и архитектуре исторических парков. Все они подчиняются единому дизайн-коду, который очень разнообразен и не унифицирует решения, а предоставляет пространство для эксперимента.

Основные материалы исторических зданий Богородска – дерево и кирпич. Из них же выполнено большинство элементов благоустройства парка. В мощении используется диагональная кладка, вдохновленная архитектурой Ново-ткацкой фабрики. Форма деревянных построек отсылает к парковым павильонам XIX века.

Достопримечательности парка распределены по всей территории. На оси главного променада, соединяющего парк с историческим центром города, находятся фонтан-чаша и обзорная башня. В зоне Индустриального леса (многофункционального выставочного пространства) и в спортивной зоне находятся два павильона в форме подковы. Они мягко обнимают прилегающий к ним участок, создавая подобие площади.

Все постройки, расположенные в пространстве лесной зоны, — имеют круглую форму. У кафе-мороженого с круговым обзором в форме звезды «лучи» образуют приватные террасы. Детская площадка замкнута в деревянном кольце, «надетом» на лес. Такое решение позволило сохранить деревья и добавить этой зоне дополнительные уровни для прогулки, присмотра за детьми или отдыха в тени.