Moscow City Tower

Public spaces organised in accordance to the logic of ikebana

2. Public interiors

Concepts

2019

With a floor plan resembling two petals, it’s lively, vegetal form contrasts markedly with the angular, crystalline aesthetic of the neighbouring Moscow City. In keeping with the comparatively sinuous blueprint of the new building, the decision was made to create a garden inside the tower. The intended garden will adhere to Japanese ikebana: a carefully selected composition that combines different textures, materials and colors, yet remains harmonious and balanced.

This ikebana aesthetic of dry flowers — subdued, natural colors; textural richness and «tactility» — defines the look of the interior. Since this particular aesthetic is best reflected in Belgian and Japanese design and fashion, the colors and textures of these traditions were also used as references.

In working on the interior, a design matrix was established. The matrix’s conception, with both axes being infinitely variable and representing looped sequences, allowed for an innumerable variety of design and finish. Of these axes, one represents a scale of color schemes from Belgium (light, muted, ethereal) to Japan (rich, thickened, spicy), while the other determines the degree of texture and material detailing from the simple and more economical to the more complex and expensive. In this way, it is not merely a limited choice of several options that is offered, but a vast design system that provides a wealth of flexibility and variety, yet remains based upon common aesthetic principles.

Башня в Сити

Общественные пространства, организованные по принципу икебаны

2. Общественный интерьер

Концепция

2019

Небоскреб Grand Tower в плане напоминает два лепестка. Эта живая, растительная форма резко контрастирует с холодной эстетикой Сити. Было решено поддержать ее созданием сада внутри башни. Задуманный сад — это японская икебана: тщательно выверенная композиция, сочетающая разные текстуры, материалы и цвета, но остающаяся гармоничной и сбалансированной.

В основе собираемой икебаны — сухоцвет. Эстетика сухих цветов — их приглушенная, натуральная цветовая гамма, богатство текстур и «тактильность» — определяет эстетику интерьера. Такая эстетика лучше всего раскрывается в бельгийском и японском дизайне и моде. Поэтому для создания интерьера был взят ориентир на цветовые и текстурные палитры, используемые в этих традициях.

Для работы над интерьером было создана матрица-конструктор, позволяющую выбирать неисчислимое множество вариантов дизайна и отделки. Обе оси матрицы бесконечны и представляют закольцованные последовательности. На одной оси представлена шкала цветовых решений от Бельгии (светлые, приглушенные, «эфирные») до Японии (насыщенные, сгущенные, «пряные»). Другая ось — степень текстурированности и деталировки материалов от более простых и более экономичных к более сложным и дорогим. Таким образом, был предложен не ограниченный выбор из нескольких вариантов, а дизайн-система, обеспечивающая гибкость и разнообразие на основе общих эстетических принципов.