Modernity inclusion

Facade replacement of a modernist building

9. Reconstruction

Concepts

2019

А joint project with Strelets&Park

As an archetypal production of late Soviet modernism, the building under reconstruction had become morally and visually outdated, bearing lamentable hallmarks of the bygone era: horizontal glazing, finishing tiles and "bundles" of lamellas, low-grade materials and shoddy workmanship. Not wishing to preserve any of these original features, the building’s thorough overhaul required a replacement of the entire façade — both in terms of materials and design elements such as pattern, rhythm, proportions and silhouette.

This process begins with the removal of the vertical slats and installation of a lively rhythm of windows in place of the monotonous, modernist, horizontal glazing of the original. The addition of decorative, geometric panels bring a degree of complexity to the design, while a translucent roof railing affords the building more harmonious proportions, refashioning the squat aesthetic of the structure.

In the second approach to redesign lamellae are in fact added to the façade, asymmetrically lining the building in a vertical manner. The lamellae ends are painted bright white, between which short strokes of decorative elements are placed in a mixture of diagonal and horizontal orientation. All of these elements combine into a lively and movable web pattern which enmeshes the façade while allowing randomly spaced glossy panels gleam through.

Vertical slats extend beyond the horizontal roof, reaching to the sky, and visually stretching the stumpy silhouette of the building, making it feel more in harmony with its surroundings.

The paving emerges as a horizontal reflection of the facade pattern, but in dark and light granite, while landscaping elements are seamlessly woven into this grid, and sculptural outdoor furniture echoes the decorative elements of the facade. The white, marble foyer faces the outer pillars, uniting the interior and exterior where the glazing of the first floor of dark green stemalite merges with the conifers planted in the area, creating an illusion that the building is hovering like a white cloud above a green haze.

Включение в современность

Замена фасада модернистского здания

9. Реконструкция

Концепция

2019

Совместно с Strelets&Park

Здание — типичный пример архитектуры позднего советского модернизма, которая в настоящее время морально и визуально устарела. Типовые решения — горизонтальное остекление, отделочная плитка и «пучки» ламелей — явно указывают на принадлежность здания другой — ушедшей эпохе. Дополнительным аргументом в пользу тотального обновления фасада служит низкое качество использованных отделочных материалов и строительных работ. Поэтому важной частью капитального ремонта здания должна стать фактическая замена фасада — как с точки зрения материалов, так и с точки зрения рисунка, ритма, пропорций и силуэта.

Новый фасад начинается со снятия вертикальных ламелей. Вместо монотонного модернистского горизонтального остекления — живой ритм окон. Дополнительный жест, усложняющий рисунок фасада, — геометрические декоративные панели. Приземистая конструкция получает новый силуэт за счет полупрозрачной ограждающей конструкции на крыше, что придает зданию более гармоничные пропорции.

В этом варианте фасадного решения ламели, наоборот, прибавляются, несимметрично расчерчивая здание по вертикали. Торцы ламелей выкрашены в яркий белый цвет, а между — короткие горизонтальные и диагональные штрихи декоративных элементов. Все вместе складывается в живой и подвижный рисунок-паутину. За этой матовой паутиной, опутывающей фасад, поблескивают «произвольно» расставленные глянцевые панели.

Вертикальные ламели выходят за горизонталь крыши, устремляясь небо, и визуально вытягивают приземистый силуэт здания, делая его более гармоничным.

Мощение — горизонтальная проекция рисунка фасада в темном и светлом граните, в эту сетку гармонично вплетены элементы озеленения. Декоративным элементам фасада вторит скульптурная уличная мебель. Белый мрамор фойе выходит на внешние опоры, объединяя интерьер и экстерьер. Остекление первого этажа из темно-зеленого стемалита сливается с хвойными деревьями, высаженными на территории — над зеленой дымкой парит белое облако здания.